SIGN COUNCIL Representative(s)

Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and Faculties in Scotland

Dr Donald Macgregor

British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (BACP)

Ms Nancy Rowland

Scottish Association of Social Workers

David Hewitson

British Medical Association Scottish General Practice Committee

Dr Tricia Donald

Faculty of Dental Surgery, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh


Faculty of Dental Surgery, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow Dr Andrew Hall

Faculty of Public Health Medicine

Dr Emilia Crighton

Healthcare Professionals in Training

Dr Lydia Simpson

Allied Health Professionals

Ms Iris Clarke
Alison Gray

Community Practitioners' and Health Visitors' Association


Royal College of Anaesthetists

Dr Lesley Colvin

Royal College of General Practitioners Scottish Council

Dr Jenny Bennison
Dr David Stephens

Royal College of Midwives, UK Board for Scotland

Ms Jane Munro

Royal College of Nursing

Caroline Rapu

Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists

Dr Tahir Mahmood

Royal College of Ophthalmologists

Mike Gavin

Royal College of Paediatrics & Child Health

Professor David Wilson

Royal College of Pathologists

Dr Richard Herriot

Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Glasgow
- medicine

Dr Rajan Madhok

- surgery

Mr Ian Colquhoun

Royal College of Psychiatrists in Scotland

Dr Werner Pretorius

British Psychological Society

Professor Ronan O’Carroll

Royal College of Radiologists
- Faculty of Clinical Oncology
- Faculty of Radiology

Dr Norma Sidek
Dr Grant Baxter

Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Mr Andrew de Beaux

Royal Pharmaceutical Society

Gary Cook

Lay representatives

Ms Margo Biggs
Ms Suzanne Clark
Ms Helen Tyrrell
Ms Eileen Wallace

Ex officio:


Professor John Kinsella


Dr Jenny Bennison

SIGN Programme Lead

Dr Roberta James

SIGN Evidence Manager Duncan Service

Healthcare Improvement Scotland

Dr Brian Robson

Healthcare Improvement Scotland Dr Sara Twaddle
Royal College of Physicians of London Dr Phyo Myint
Royal College of Surgeons of England Miss Felicity Mehendale
Scottish Government Healthcare Policy and Strategy Directorate Dr Sara Davies

The declarations of SIGN Council members are available on the website and updates are recorded after each SIGN council meeting. The Policy on Declaration of Competing Interests is also available on the website.

SIGN Council <About SIGN <Home